British Jewellers Association



Diamonds are graded on their colour, clarity and symmetry. This website offers the choice of almost any diamond imaginable. Diamonds are priced on their attributes. Its as simple as the higher quality the diamond is the more expensive it is.

There are two main types of diamonds, brilliant and step cut. When purchasing a step cut diamond it's best to choose a higher quality stone as sometimes inclusions can be seen. With brilliant diamonds it is not as necessary to choose such a high quality stone as the brilliance of the stone would unable you to see any small inclusions.

Brilliant diamonds are, Round, Oval, Marquise, Radiant, Princess, Pear and Heart shape.

Step Cut diamonds are Emerald and Asscher cut.

Diamonds also are catogorised into two other groups, Round Brilliant and Fancy Shape. A fancy shape diamond is any shape of diamond other than Round. When purchasing a fancy shape diamond the proportions and symmetry are very important as they determine the brilliance, luster and fire of a diamond.

Carat Weight

A diamonds weight is measured by carats and points. 100 points make up one carat
( 0.01 carat = l point ). One carat is equal to 0.20 grams.

The bigger the carat weight the bigger and more expensive the diamond is. A common misconception is that half a carat is half the size of one carat. That is not correct, a half carat is half the weight of one carat, but the millimeter difference on a round stone is only 1.35mm. (average mm for 0.50ct is 5.00mm, average mm for 1.00ct is 6.35mm)

Diamonds jump up in value when they hit the half and full carat mark because of their demand.

Please click here to view a pdf of actual diamond sizes.

Diamond Colour

A diamonds colour is something clearly visible unlike the clarity. The colour is graded from D to Z, on this website we only offer the top few grades which are D to J.

Colours D, E, F are completely colourless. Colours G, H, I are very slightly tinted, but have no colour. Colour J has a very very light yellow tint.

Diamond Clarity

A diamonds clarity is graded by the amount or lack of inclusions in the stone.The grades are as follows, Internally Flawless, VVS1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2.There are lower grades than SI2 but we do not offer them on this site.

Proportions and Symmetry

A diamonds cut (the proportions and symmetry), is a the most important attribute of a diamond.

The cut of a diamond determines a diamonds brilliance. So basically the better the cut of a diamond the more sparkle a diamond has.

There are three main options for symmetry. These are "Good", "Very Good" and "Excellent".

An Excellent cut is sometimes called an Ideal Cut diamond. This means that the diamond is perfectly proportioned. Ideal cuts are normally only Round Brilliant diamonds, but sometimes its possible to other shapes. Ideal cut diamonds are normally around 5% - 10% more expensive than normal diamonds.

Diamond Certificates

A diamond certificate is a document which states a diamonds attributes e.g. colour, clarity, measurements ect.

There are many different laboratories that certificate diamonds. Only a few of these labs are recognised and respected in the diamond industry.

On this website we offer AGS, GIA, HRD, and IGI certificated. Some labs are stricter and more lenient than other labs. For example an HRD "G" colour, could be a GIA "H" colour.If you are comparing prices, make sure the certificates are comparable.

Every diamond above 0.5ct is available with a certificate upon request.

Diamond Fluorescence

Fluorescence is an important attribute of a diamond. It has usually has four or five different grades. These are "None", "Faint", "Medium", "Strong" and "Very Strong". If a diamond with strong fluorescence is exposed to a fluorescence light then it will glow a slight blue. It will not glow at all under normal light. Medium fluorescence is basically not as visible as strong and so on.